We had Soo much fun on Sunday!!! Where you ask? Doing what?….

My son LOVES blueberries. He can eat them every day, bowl-fulls. This morning we had some blueberries topped with mascarpone whipped wit maple syrup. Than we had … more blueberries – on their own. Then, english muffins with … cries for more blueberries. 😀 I asked what the kids want for lunch … more blueberries. Two days of eating mainly blueberries and I really think they will start turning into giant blue berries by the end of the day.

Yesterday we spent the day blueberry picking. My dear friend Mandy invited us to her Mom’s blueberry farm for a day of family picking. Julie’s farm is located in Port Coquitlam, easy fifteen- or twenty-minute drive from Burnaby. I invited a few of my friends and some homeschooling families to tag along.

We got to Julie’s farm at noon and the weather was perfect … cloudy and on the chilly side. I let the kids loose to play in the large grassy area. Right away, ABoy found the largest sticks in PoCo and started slaying the local dragons. When I told him we were at a blueberry farm where the bushes were bending to the ground with the weight of the biggest juiciest berries he would ever see … he left the local population to deal with the fiery beasts on their own and started stuffing his mouth with the sweet blues.

I was amazed to see that some of the four-year olds as well as eight-year olds were doing really well filling up their parents folks. I was less impressed with my demands onto my children to start earning their keep. KGirl informed me that she is too busy doing her work. I asked what that might be and she said … “being a kid, so playing is my work.” She was in heaven with her accomplices around. The guilty parties: Lela and Makonnen, Andrew and Isabel, Megan and Linus, and of course ABoy. Alas, after they dined on the blueberries they were off to chase hummingbirds and dragonflies and play hide and seek in the jungle.

story time at Richard's

Andrew reading to Kaia and Lela while patiently waiting for sushi.

The sun came up and I started to sweat. I also became quite aware that I picked the low bushes and not the tall ones. I am quite tall for those of you who don’t know me. My back was really sore. But, I managed to pick 15 pounds of berries on my own, over some spillage and two thieving monkeys.

My friend Jane brought home-made sushi, cut into perfect size for the kids to share. Margaret made yummy vegan chocolate chip banana mini muffins, and I … just mixed some cashews with dried currants and raw cocoa nibs, and glued it together with maple syrup. Of course we all finished it with a healthy dose of … blueberries. 🙂

Julie hung out with us and was very attentive as a hostess. She even offered to feed us! Which we politely declined as to not put more strain on her household. It was enough that we over-ran her house. 🙂

We topped the loot with a dozen of free-range eggs from the next door house.

I am looking forward to the next time. I hope there will be at least one more time this summer.

I really highly recommend this little farm. Julie rocks.

Thanks to Julie and Mandy, Adam and Jane, Margaret and Frank, Nicole, and Cindy. And of course to all the kids. It was a blast.

