“I swear by Apollo the physician …” “Let your food be your medicine and medicine be your food.” Hippocrates, 400BC.

I had been immersed in my free time in looking up pre-eclampsia. My friend a trained nutritionist and I often discuss the importance of nutrition in pregnancy and in life in general. My midwifery mentor cannot stress the need for excellent eating habits during the childbearing time more or more often. And recently I have received two calls in one week from two separate women saying their doctors want to induce them the next day for pre-eclampsia. When I got the stories out they both sounded very similar. They were both well into the 39th week of gestation. Both had a blood test done showing some signs of pre-eclampsia. One had a blood pressure checked and it was a bit higher but still within limits (as per her doctor, she did not know or remember the reading), the other one did not even have a BP done before the OB said to induce.

I know that in both cases no more testing was done and they were automatically scheduled for an induction. Is there really such a rush that a care provider does not have to do more of assessing and consultation for risks and the nature of the condition? What about nutritional counselling and providing info about the only effective treatment available the Dr. Brewer’s diet?

Well. I guess that is why they pay me the BIG bucks! Oh wait a second …

So, here is “some” (actually this is the most complete look on pre-eclampsia) info on pre-eclampsia. Of course you cannot discuss pre-eclampsia without the backing of  Dr. Brewer.

Alas, this post will have to await my rant. It is past midnight, I have a client starting her birthing process and I also have to pick up my kids from their Dad’s in the morning. The time demands are maddening at times. I wish I had a time machine. Sometimes.

