As I was licking my birth wounds four days ago and remembering the twin birth of one of my clients I got to read this facebook update about twins born at home two days apart:

Hellena Post: Just had the most intense 3 day physical, emotional, spiritual, transformative, learning experience of my life. Birthing twin boys – Maximillian Hercules on Sat. 21 at 9.25am, then staying in labour on and off while nursing a newborn, till Merlin Redbad was born on Monday 23 at 4.05am…two unique boys, with different birthdays, different looks, and totally separate births…”

How AWESOME is this?! You don’t hear things like that! Ever! I hear of homeborn twins but 2 DAYS APART? Wow! That just blows my thresholds right there.  Hellena Post’s birth was in Australia and was attended by the Australian goddess of home breach births and a home-birth midwife warrior Lisa Barrett.

I remember asking my twin client if she knows her doc’s policy on twin births, specifically how long does she have to birth twin B on her own before the OB will start mucking things up. I wonder what he would say to this birth story. But … not really. I don’t really care what he would say. Because he does not provide a sound advice anyway.

Thank goodness for my community and specifically the on-line community. We women love to share and network and I am so thankful that we women-folk can access what we need when we need it.

