My kids love rocking to Cyndi Lauper. They like her old stuff as well as the not so old. I was thrilled to learn that she was performing at the PNE here in Vancouver. I knew I wanted to go. I knew my five year old would love to go as well. And of course when I mentioned it to my two year old he started jumping up and down like crazy shouting “Cyndi Lauper, Cyndi Lauper, …”. So we decided to go to the show.

Glorious evening full of twists and turns of events, and wonderful surprise. Not only did I find a free PNE gate pass hiding on my fridge covered with layers of highly acclaimed art work, got to have a smoothie and a soup with Mandy made by a $600 blender that can cook a soup and grind flour in a moment and in next produce a bucket of ice cream, and then realized that the show we came to see and anticipated for so long was packed so badly we were not going to be able to see it, but we were also given seated tickets in the bleachers by Richard so we did not have to worry a THING! Thank you, thank you, thank you! yes, no hanging out with drunk men hollering stupid comments nor did we have to put up with smelly teenagers falling over themselves. So Mr Brown gave up his tickets on his birthday while on a date with the Barefoot Nutritionista. I felt bad. For a minute. And then, I felt good. For the rest of the show. I am sure M&R got better seats and all … in the tech tower, but still … he is the man and she is the woman. Love them!

The show was pretty good. I don’t really like the last album put out. I appreciate it but … the show did not really kick off until the eighties songs trickled in.

I must say that I have a deep respect for Lauper. For many reasons but extra one tonight. As she was working the crowd during a song and was connecting with the audience the dumb-asses were shoving cameras into her face and snapping pics of her being so close to them. Well, she must have been as uncomfortable with that as I was because she interrupted the song and talked to the group of people ‘with their stupid-ass cameras’ shoving them into her face, being disrespectful to her and the musicians, and missing the show and the whole point. She got a cheer and support from the crowd.

I felt terribly that this happened. I don’t know if it happens all the time but I was ashamed for Vancouver and embarrassed . Sure, it was a show at the PNE but still! HAVE SOME RESPECT people!

I think Lauper must have been drinking from the same water cooler as I was or something because I was thinking this whole camera thing myself for the past few days. That is why I don’t have any pics of us at the show. I took some before leaving so KGirl and ABoy have a little token but I left my new camera in the car when we parked at the PNE. I did not want to bring it. I knew I would not be able to enjoy myself and appreciate the moment as much if I were to capture it on memory card instead of in my mind and soul. I wanted to be connected and in the moment. And I was. And as Lauper was leaning on the fence working her magic I was thinking ‘stupid people with their cameras and flashing her like that’.

Anyway … the kids loved the show. Within the first 10 min KGirl announced that Cyndi was wearing a wig and wanted to know why. 🙂 They were dancing and jumping, even ABoy was singing to Girls Just Wanna Have Fun!

It was a glorious evening. Thanks to friends and family. I am truly honoured to have you in my life.

